AIDA Helios-Class Movie

.

(“Just My Holiday”)

AIDA Cruises has issued a movie of its next class of ships, the Helios-class.

These ships are aimed at the German market and will be in excess of 180,000 gross tons and carry 5,200 passengers (lower berths), powered by LNG.

The first AIDA ship will be delivered from Meyer Werft in late 2018, the second in 2021.

The ships design will have 21 stateroom categories, ranging from penthouse suites to family, veranda staterooms and single cabins.

(Courtesy AIDA)

There will be 17 restaurants, including the traditional German self-service options, a-la-carte restaurants and five specialty options. Among the specialty options will be French Kiss, Casanova and the Brauhaus. (Apparently the German’s like buffets and there will be a good choice of them on-board).

(Image Courtesy AIDA)

The Dome (Image courtesy AIDA)

Deck 16 will be an activity deck with a waterslide, water park, mini golf and a ropes course.

The pool deck will have a light-weight retractable glass roof, making the ships suitable for deployment in Northern Europe, in the winter. This will feature AIDA’s popular beach-club as on-board AIDAprima.

(AIDA Cruises)

The Costa version  (Courtesy Carnival)

Malcolm says: We have now seen renderings of the Costa Cruises version of this amazing Carnival design, the P&O version and a leaked model of the Carnival Cruises version.

The P&O version

Although AIDA is aimed at the thriving German market, it looks as if the P&O and AIDA versions of this ship share a ‘Dome’.

The Costa version does not appear to have this feature, but I guess she will spend much of her time in the hot Mediterranean. It’s not clear if the Carnival version will have  a ‘Dome’, but maybe she will not need it in the Caribbean.

The deck space/prom looks to be extensive, rather like MSC’s ‘Seaside’ design which NCL will also be using.

Malcolm.

Tags: , , , , , ,

3 Responses to “AIDA Helios-Class Movie”

  1. Jo Walker Says:

    I agree about the lips, and they’ll look even more grotesque if they’re painted to scale on the new ship. Does anyone, anywhere, know why these lips are so important? I read that Aida was owned by P&O prior to Carnival’s take over… were the lips around then?

  2. Malcolm Oliver Says:

    Dear Someone, don’t worry I am also becoming a grumpy old man.

    Us Brits are lucky we still have some smaller/older ships serving our ports. There are ‘real’ ships with wrap around teak prom decks.

    Have you tried Cunard, especially the QM2? She’s a newer ship but with a real Ocean Liner feel.

    Unfortunately history is a thing of the past. (I love the original Queen Mary too).

    Thanks for your input.
    Malcolm

  3. Anonymous Says:

    Well its official, I’m a grumpy old man (turning 60) Shooting down anything new and innovative and going on and on about how much better things were “back in the old days” Ok fine, but its true, ships these days no longer look like ships, they look like floating office buildings. Over the years as I’ve watched ships go from liners to what look like floating office buildings. I’ve watched funnels disappear or not even resemble a funnel anymore…I like funnels, I don’t know why but I do, now theyre placed in a pair in the stern like exhaust pipes on a big rig. When I was a very young child I was fascinated by anything having to do with ocean liners, model ships, movies “The last voyage” “Titanic” with Barbara Stanwyck, if there was an ocean liner in just a few scenes in a movie I was beside myself. When I was ten years old I saw the Queen Mary sail into Long Beach Ending her final voyage and long before she was open for tours I would beg my parents to drive me down to LB so I could just stand through the chain link fence and stare at her. Later as a teenager I would wander her halls and public rooms till the wee hours (Hotel security was VERY lax luckily) and even to this day I make it a point stay aboard her hotel when I’m in LA to see friends and family or if I’m leaving on a cruise from the area. I sailed the Norway a few times just because of her history as the France and relished in the last vestiges of her classic design, broad promenades and lovely old club international. Granted this new ship profiled here today and many of the other new ships you profile have lovely interiors and I’ve been pleasantly surprised by the interior designs of many of the ships I’ve traveled on in the past thirty or more years, but the purpose of this long rambling posting is to share with you this one thing which I wish to make perfectly clear, and thats that I will not now or EVER travel aboard a ship that has HUGE RED LIPS painted on its bow…you’ll find me climbing the rock wall or riding a go cart or suspended on a big mechanical arm in some glass hamster ball over the ocean, before I set foot on a ship with that ridiculous livery…there, I’ve said my piece, I will now go troll another site and complain about the lack of rumble seats in today’s vehicles. Thank you.

Leave a Reply

